top of page
The Burying Point - Ebook.jpg

The Burying Point: A Ray Hanley Crime Thriller

 

A CAPTIVATING BLEND OF CRIME, HORROR, AND THE SUPERNATURAL

A missing girl whose bloodline traces back to the Salem Witch Trials is the perfect prize for a demonic cult operating on the fringes of Salem’s witchcraft underground.

Desperate to find his missing niece, a Boston police captain loans his best detective, Ray Hanley, to Salem PD to lead the investigation. But tensions flare when Ray is partnered with Elena Martinez, a rookie detective who resents his intrusion on her first big case.

As they navigate a treacherous landscape of occult rituals and black magic, the horrific discovery of additional victims deepens the mystery and hints at a more sinister plot… one involving a powerful enemy whose secrets include ancestral ties, malevolent forces, and the fulfillment of a dark prophecy.

As the days count down to Halloween, the race is on to stop an unspeakable evil from plunging Salem into eternal darkness.

From the award-winning author of THE ART OF DYING

Although THE BURYING POINT picks up where THE ART OF DYING leaves off, it follows Detective Ray Hanley on a completely new case that can be read as a standalone novel.

“An unpredictable blend of crime and horror… The Burying Point grabs from the first pages with crisp, focused prose and dialogue-driven scenecraft.” –BookLife Reviews (Editor’s Pick)

 

“A brilliant and unmissable dance with the devil. Salem witch lore has rarely been as terrifying as it is in The Burying Point.” –Bestthrillers.com

 

“The book moves at a gripping pace between its chilling events… The limits of faith and sanity are tested in a missing person’s investigation in the chilling thriller The Burying Point.” --Foreword Clarion Reviews

 

“THE BURYING POINT demonstrates Cavignano’s skill at creating the perfect blend of police procedural and chilling horror story. Detective Ray Hanley confronts his toughest case with occult magic and ritual murder born within the darkest corners of Salem. If you're not reading Cavignano, you need to change that!” –Douglas Ford, award-winning author of THE TRICK

The Art of Dying - eBook Award.jpg

The Art of Dying: A Ray Hanley Crime Thriller

A CRIME THRILLER REMINISCENT OF THE SILENCE OF THE LAMBS AND THE DEPARTED

When the bizarre death of a mob foot soldier sparks an escalating war between Boston’s Irish and Italian mafia, Detective Ray Hanley’s relentless search for the truth uncovers evidence of a serial killer obsessed with the art of human suffering. As the body count rises, Detective Hanley must navigate a minefield of crime families, dirty politicians, and crooked cops, while matching wits with a deranged serial killer. Temptation, betrayal, and death threaten to derail the investigation… and justice doesn’t come without a price.

For fans of Thomas Harris, Michael Connelly, and Dennis Lehane

“[A] twisty, gory crime thriller... The satisfying final reveal is a testament to the author's cleverness.” --Publishers Weekly

“An edge-of-your seat detective thriller that crackles with gore and wit before delivering a stunning knockout blow. Fans of The Silence of the Lambs should flock to Derik Cavignano's new series debut.” —BestThrillers.com

“A highly suspenseful and delightfully twisted thriller with one of the creepiest villains in recent memory!” —Jeff Strand, Bram Stoker Award-winning author

 

"Boston gets gory in this enjoyable, horror-tinged crime tale.  -Kirkus Reviews

 

"The Art of Dying blends drama and horror for a disturbing and gripping thriller." -Foreword Clarion Reviews

 

"Cavignano artfully misdirects the plot with family dramas and subtle clues, while keeping the cat-and-mouse conflict between Hanley and his quarry on track--all while the terror of the story's victims ratchets up the tension between chapters." --BlueInk Review

 

14th Annual National Indie Excellence Awards Winner (Thrillers) 
2019 American Fiction Awards Winner (General Horror)

2019 Best Book Awards Winner (Horror)

NIEA Winner.png
Book authority seal.png
New cover RW (front) JPG.jpg

The Righteous and the Wicked

 

When Jacob Hanley discovers that the withered old man who died in his arms is really only thirty years old, the mystery of how he aged so quickly draws Jacob into the heart of a sinister plot.

 

The founder of Symbios Innovations, Hans Streisser, has dedicated his life to the relentless pursuit of knowledge.  Known by his followers as the Great Elder, he walks a blurred line between genius and madness and has graced his subjects with the most extraordinary discovery in the history of science.  But he'll do anything to keep his discovery a secret, incuding the use of murderous henchmen like Vic Cappetti.

 

As Jacob's curiousity lures him deeper into a dangerous web, he learns the truth behind the Great Elder's plans and finds himself caught in a life or death struggle that could very well lead to the extinction of mankind.

 

"Cavignano brings wonderful characterization of people and places to his lightning-paced fantasy thriller ... Boston neighborhoods are impeccably portrayed ... A gleefully hard-boiled urban fantasy that lights up Boston's mean streets." -Kirkus Reviews

 

"A wildly entertaining book ... [that] delivers a deliciously compelling villain ... [and] plot twists until the very end." -bestthrillers.com

The Righteous and the Wicked

 

When Jacob Hanley discovers that the withered old man who died in his arms is really only thirty years old, the mystery of how he aged so quickly draws Jacob into the heart of a sinister plot.

 

The founder of Symbios Innovations, Hans Streisser, has dedicated his life to the relentless pursuit of knowledge.  Known by his followers as the Great Elder, he walks a blurred line between genius and madness and has graced his subjects with the most extraordinary discovery in the history of science.  But he'll do anything to keep his discovery a secret, incuding the use of murderous henchmen like Vic Cappetti.

 

As Jacob's curiousity lures him deeper into a dangerous web, he learns the truth behind the Great Elder's plans and finds himself caught in a life or death struggle that could very well lead to the extinction of mankind.

 

"Cavignano brings wonderful characterization of people and places to his lightning-paced fantasy thriller ... Boston neighborhoods are impeccably portrayed ... A gleefully hard-boiled urban fantasy that lights up Boston's mean streets." -Kirkus Reviews

 

"A wildly entertaining book ... [that] delivers a deliciously compelling villain ... [and] plot twists until the very end." -bestthrillers.com

New book cover Kindle version.jpg
Colony of the Lost

 

A DEMON'S REVENGE... AN ADDICT'S STRUGGLE... THE BATTLE FOR THE SOUL OF A TOWN
 

When the children of Glenwood begin vanishing one by one, baffling local and federal authorities alike, the idyllic New England suburb becomes anything but a utopia.

Built upon the ruins of a lost colony, Glenwood harbors a long-forgotten secret, and when three strangers are lured into the midnight woods by the phantom of a Puritan boy, they discover the truth of the town’s dark past and must face a vision of its bloody future.

Together, this unlikely trio—Jay, an alcoholic school teacher, Tim, a wise-cracking new kid in town, and Sarah, a nine-year-old with a handful of imaginary friends—must find a way to rescue the town from a terrifying supernatural force to prevent history from repeating itself.


 

"A solid horror story with appetizing characters." -Kirkus Reviews

 

"An immensely satisfying paranormal thriller that manages to be playful, haunting and engrossing all at once." -bestthrillers.com

bottom of page