The Art of Dying: A Ray Hanley Crime Thriller

 

 

A CRIME THRILLER REMINISCENT OF THE SILENCE OF THE LAMBS AND THE DEPARTED

When the bizarre death of a mob foot soldier sparks an escalating war between Boston’s Irish and Italian mafia, Detective Ray Hanley’s relentless search for the truth uncovers evidence of a serial killer obsessed with the art of human suffering. As the body count rises, Detective Hanley must navigate a minefield of crime families, dirty politicians, and crooked cops, while matching wits with a deranged serial killer. Temptation, betrayal, and death threaten to derail the investigation… and justice doesn’t come without a price.

For fans of Thomas Harris, Michael Connelly, and Dennis Lehane

 

"Boston gets gory in this enjoyable, horror-tinged crime tale.  -Kirkus Reviews

 

"The Art of Dying blends drama and horror for a disturbing and gripping thriller." -Foreword Clarion Reviews

 

"Cavignano artfully misdirects the plot with family dramas and subtle clues, while keeping the cat-and-mouse conflict between Hanley and his quarry on track--all while the terror of the story's victims ratchets up the tension between chapters." --BlueInk Review


2019 American Fiction Awards Winner (Horror: General category)

2019 Best Book Awards Winner (Fiction: Horror category)

The Righteous and the Wicked

 

When Jacob Hanley discovers that the withered old man who died in his arms is really only thirty years old, the mystery of how he aged so quickly draws Jacob into the heart of a sinister plot.

 

The founder of Symbios Innovations, Hans Streisser, has dedicated his life to the relentless pursuit of knowledge.  Known by his followers as the Great Elder, he walks a blurred line between genius and madness and has graced his subjects with the most extraordinary discovery in the history of science.  But he'll do anything to keep his discovery a secret, incuding the use of murderous henchmen like Vic Cappetti.

 

As Jacob's curiousity lures him deeper into a dangerous web, he learns the truth behind the Great Elder's plans and finds himself caught in a life or death struggle that could very well lead to the extinction of mankind.

 

"Cavignano brings wonderful characterization of people and places to his lightning-paced fantasy thriller ... Boston neighborhoods are impeccably portrayed ... A gleefully hard-boiled urban fantasy that lights up Boston's mean streets." -Kirkus Reviews

 

"A wildly entertaining book ... [that] delivers a deliciously compelling villain ... [and] plot twists until the very end." -bestthrillers.com

The Righteous and the Wicked

 

When Jacob Hanley discovers that the withered old man who died in his arms is really only thirty years old, the mystery of how he aged so quickly draws Jacob into the heart of a sinister plot.

 

The founder of Symbios Innovations, Hans Streisser, has dedicated his life to the relentless pursuit of knowledge.  Known by his followers as the Great Elder, he walks a blurred line between genius and madness and has graced his subjects with the most extraordinary discovery in the history of science.  But he'll do anything to keep his discovery a secret, incuding the use of murderous henchmen like Vic Cappetti.

 

As Jacob's curiousity lures him deeper into a dangerous web, he learns the truth behind the Great Elder's plans and finds himself caught in a life or death struggle that could very well lead to the extinction of mankind.

 

"Cavignano brings wonderful characterization of people and places to his lightning-paced fantasy thriller ... Boston neighborhoods are impeccably portrayed ... A gleefully hard-boiled urban fantasy that lights up Boston's mean streets." -Kirkus Reviews

 

"A wildly entertaining book ... [that] delivers a deliciously compelling villain ... [and] plot twists until the very end." -bestthrillers.com

Colony of the Lost

 

A DEMON'S REVENGE... AN ADDICT'S STRUGGLE... THE BATTLE FOR THE SOUL OF A TOWN
 

When the children of Glenwood begin vanishing one by one, baffling local and federal authorities alike, the idyllic New England suburb becomes anything but a utopia.

Built upon the ruins of a lost colony, Glenwood harbors a long-forgotten secret, and when three strangers are lured into the midnight woods by the phantom of a Puritan boy, they discover the truth of the town’s dark past and must face a vision of its bloody future.

Together, this unlikely trio—Jay, an alcoholic school teacher, Tim, a wise-cracking new kid in town, and Sarah, a nine-year-old with a handful of imaginary friends—must find a way to rescue the town from a terrifying supernatural force to prevent history from repeating itself.


 

"A solid horror story with appetizing characters." -Kirkus Reviews

 

"An immensely satisfying paranormal thriller that manages to be playful, haunting and engrossing all at once." -bestthrillers.com